Ode to the textbook

O tome filled with all the answers,
sit squarely at the center of my desk.
Bask in sunlight, precious text!
Let it warm your sage pages.
I lift you gently, feel your heft,
angle you carefully, as if somehow
your words could pour out
onto the ground and be lost.
I see you and know that I
am in a phase of learning.
I hear my teacher’s voice
exhorting me to open you.
But what of beauty? What of
the uncracked spine you wear?
Dare I disturb the silvery veneer
of dust built up over months
of reverence? Dare I wipe away
such a badge of grace and majesty?
I do not. You will stay perfect
and pristine, placed just so
upon my desk, a monument
to $149 well spent.

5 thoughts on “Ode to the textbook

  1. Congratulations on being featured! Your ode to the textbook brought back memories of sitting by the window of a sunny classroom with a new textbook, which is why I love these lines:

    ‘But what of beauty? What of
    the uncracked spine you wear?
    Dare I disturb the silvery veneer
    of dust built up over months
    of reverence?’

  2. “You will stay perfect / and pristine, placed just so / upon my desk, a monument/ to $149 well spent.” Just fantastic, you really are putting out consistently incredible work!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started