Lost in Thought

Out in the alley, dandelions shake
their manes of pollen and memories
hunt me. The icicles have left a jagged
emptiness on the jaw of the house.

Wind tousles the dust. A dark eyed
junco twists its drab head at me.
The neighbor’s dog chases something
around the roots of a buckeye.

My thumb rubs circles into the back
of my hand. I’ve wrecked my wrists
from too much grasping. I practice
holding nothing. As the sky wheels

above, I am uneasy. The ground
might tip too far back and send me
tumbling over the sharp edge
of the horizon.

4 thoughts on “Lost in Thought

  1. This is absolutely incredible. I was going to quote my favourite bits here, but honestly it’s basically half the poem by weight!

  2. I love this style of poetry, verging on beat poetry, and with stunning imagery, especially:

    ‘Out in the alley, dandelions shake
    their manes of pollen and memories
    hunt me’

    and

    ‘…As the sky wheels
    above, I am uneasy. The ground
    might tip too far back and send me
    tumbling over the sharp edge
    of the horizon.’

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started